IEA Bioenegry

IEA Bioenergy is a subsection of the International Energy Agency (IEA) that was established in 1978 with the goal of improving cooperation and information sharing between countries that have national bioenergy research and development programs. Twenty-eight countries plus the European Commission belong to the IEA and include Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, the European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

IEA Tasks

The IEA uses tasks to structure and define its work, budgets, and time frames. The work is divided into four main categories that then subdivide from there. The four categories are:

  • Biomass Resources
    • Conventional and Short rotation forestry
    • Agricultural crops and residues
    • Oil-bearing plants
    • Municipal waste
    • Industrial waste
  • Supply Systems
    • Harvesting
    • Collection
    • Handling
    • Storage
  • Conversion
    • Biochemical
    • Thermochemical
    • Physical/Chemical
  • End Productions
    • Transportation Fuels
    • Heat Fuels
    • Electricity Fuels
    • Solid Fuels

Task are led by individual countries and coordinated by a “Task Leader.” 2010-2012 saw the introduction of 12 Tasks for a total of 43 since the agency was founded. Tasks include things like greenhouse gas balances, sustainable international trade, feedstock assessments, and more.

IEA Resources

The IEA also offers a number of resources for public consumption, such as workshops, media repositories, and events. The group offers a library of research and of IEA Tasks for public consumption as well.